Print    Close This Window
Loveland Show Choirs/Retirees recognized at Loveland Board of Education Business Meeting
Loveland Show Choirs/Retirees recognized at Loveland Board of Education Business MeetingIt was the perfect combination: Loveland City School District retirees seated before a nationally recognized show choir. Following the Tuesday, May 19, Board of Education Business Meeting – before the Board formally recognized retirees, those being honored had a final performance by the very students they spent their careers serving.

“I thought what a wonderful night for them to come in – this is our present to our retirees. This is all of your years of hard work standing before you,” said Superintendent Chad Hilliker as he introduced the show choir students.

In addition to hosting the annual retiree recognition, the Board of Education was also recognizing the recent accomplishments of the Loveland Show Choirs. The Loveland High School (LHS) Show Choir By Request earned the title of First Runner Up in a field of the top 18 show choirs in the nation this spring.

Retirees were treated to an outstanding performance by the award-winning students. Then administrators and Board members formally recognized each retiree, presenting those present with a plaque. A community reception concluded the evening.

The complete list of 2015 Loveland City School District retirees includes:

Betty Gentry, bus driver

Loveland Primary School
Deborah Schulz, first grade teacher
Rinda Shutts, art teacher

Loveland Elementary School
LaVerne Armstrong, third grade teacher
Kathy Murphy, secretary
Cathy Taylor, reading teacher

Loveland Middle School
Ora Sue Peabody, secretary
Diane Sullivan, art teacher
Jean Weisbrod, language arts teacher

Loveland High School
Howard Basinger, math teacher
Debbie Hager, counselor
Kellee Lawler, English teacher
Tim Partin, social studies teacher

Central Office
Judy Guenther, receptionist

Photo caption (Left to Right): Loveland City School District Retirees present during the May 19 Board recognition ceremony included Rinda Shutts, Ora Sue Peabody, Debbie Hager, Cathy Taylor, LaVerne Armstrong, Kathy Murphy, Judy Guenther and Diane Sullivan.