my voice, my choice
new student enrollment
staff directory
tiger web portal
A tour of Washington, D.C.

Posted Tuesday, May 28, 2013

A tour of Washington, D.C.What do you get when you take 199 eighth grade students plus 14 chaperones and send them on a five-day exploration of Washington, D.C.? A trip they won’t soon forget!

“We were able to sit in the House of Representatives Chamber and listen to the debate over SEC regulations, we met with Representative Brad Wenstrup outside the Capitol Building, and we toured the National Holocaust Memorial Museum,” said Katie Rose, Loveland Middle School (LMS) eighth-grade language arts and social studies teacher, and trip organizer. “We even saw the Presidential motorcade from a distance!”

The highlight reel included: Arlington National Cemetery (where students saw the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and watched the changing of the guard, visited the Kennedy gravesite and saw the Eternal Flame); Iwo Jima; Ford's Theater and Petersen House; Korean Memorial; WWII Memorial; Vietnam War Memorial; Capitol Hill including sitting in the House of Representatives Chamber and tour of Visitor's Center; Library of Congress; Supreme Court; U.S. Naval Memorial; Embassy Row; National Cathedral Tour; White House and Washington Memorials; Lincoln Memorial; FDR Memorial; Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial; Jefferson Memorial; Smithsonian Museums (American History, Natural History, & Air and Space); U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum Tour.


“The sites we visited are related to both the eighth grade American history curriculum as well as eighth grade language arts,” said Rose. “But it wasn’t just about seeing history; the students also got a great experience spending quality time with their teacher chaperones and fellow classmates making memories that will not soon be forgotten.”

This was the second annual LMS D.C. trip, and plans are already in the works for next year's trip. For parents who are interested, next year's trip is from May 14 to May 18, 2014, and you can e-mail either Trisha Murray ( or Ms. Rose ( for more information. The early registration deadline is Wednesday, June 5 to qualify for a reduced price.

Trip participants included: Jessica Morey, Julia Dillhoff, Stephanie Batsch, Katie Fackler, Mitch Suder, Claire Edison, Mitch Robinson, Morgan Hastings, Jacob Campbell, Rachel Crum, Ryan Bagnoli, Grace Fjelstul, Jack Sexton, Drew Docherty, Daniella Moncada, Brady Funke, Paige Johnson, Drake Johnson, Lauren Catalfino, Tarah Wagner, Jacob Korniak, Christian Harris, Mitchell Laifook, Brett Kluge, Nate Lawry, Lizzie Rodriguez, Carly Balzarini, Kyle Hook, Natalie Pfaltzgraff, Jacob Bellamah, Blue Gunn, Ally Kluender, Rachel Oberholzer, Hannah Bashardoust, Kayla Johnson, Jack Tereck, Karlin Holley, Drew Kluender, Mackenzie Talbott, Brian Haberer, Aidan Dial, Zion Wynn, Megan Brezina, Luke Waddell, Cameron Beck, Andrew Hesse, Calvin Whitaker, Austin Nuncio, Maddie Craft, Brady Dotson, Erin Klenke, Nate Webster, Lindsay Kleunder, Dominic Ferreri, Abigail Murphey, Madi Osborne, Elise Kendrick, Rachel Martinez, Frankie Tessler, Rachel Warm-Deutsch, Tamar Goldwasser, Sarah Walsh, Alison Goret, Jonathan Geist, Claire Hasenoehrl, Luke Oslack, Erin Kahle, J.J. Johnson, Madison Orlowski, Jacob Payzant , Nicole Goret, James Meckey, Kayla Hartzler, Jackson Herrman, Delaney Wilson, Will Sturgis, Liz Bartnik, A.J. Delcimmuto, Ava Peter, Henry Daumeyer, Jordan Marschhausen, Ben Richardson, Caroline Poole, Marty Zimmer, Zach Karp, Paul Roman, Kyra Maloney, Charlie Coons, Rachel Jackson, Ben Kieffer, Alicia Kenny, Mitchell Vankoevering, Erica Perl, Max Daugherty, Emily Hageman, Jack Carver, Logan Smith, Joe Carver, Shannon Symons, Andrew Dygert, Emily Stephenson, Alec McCellan, Cara Rasmussen, Vaughn Richter, Diana Coleman, Brent Blust, Jessica Rychlik, Gunnar Tuttle, Julia Hoge, Jacob Morra, Britney McGeorge, Riley Becker, Rikki Badinghaus, Spencer Ausec, Ashley Brown, Mikey Dillinger, Sarah Smith, Jack Stanley, Kiley Allen, Daniel Kelly, Bethany Thompson, Sean Ovens, Micayla Veeneman, Evan Dodds, Aniliese Deal, Hashem El Esses, Delaney Grace Walker, Bryce O'Nan, Erin Brophy, Corey Fields, Grace McVey, Graham Martin, Alix Rose, Jacob Miller, Alli Hains, Hunter McAfee, Sam Geier, Alex Brownfield, Ethan Bell, Julianna Sabin, Bailey Shank, Kyle Padgett, Sara Villegas, Adam Brulport, Anna Azallion, Connor Hundley, Zoe Missar, Josh Ferrell, Emma Gillespie, Nathan Tipton, Abbie Wood, Jonah Goldwasser, Bethany Weaver, Kelton Wene, Niki Fiorenza, Adrian Conte, Kristyn Aiello, Zach Seltzer, Bethann Hughes, Cole Swartz, Leah Turner, Joe Hilliker, Autumn Binford, Nate Richmond, Morgan Hoffman, Jenny Nguyen, Tess Locasto, Somari Mowbray, Courtney Mennen, Matt Ellis, Maggie Dowd, Nick Haddad, Kirkland Kelly, Ryan Rolfes, Emily Poole, Bailey Shank, Megan Mueller, Jarrett Albin, Kira Hamlin, Zach Robbins, Allese Haddad, Braden Watts, Kaylie Simms, Thomas Elam, Alex Lusk, Ella Richards, Brad Jodice, Paige Nash, Andy Jodice, Reagan Jeffery, Dane Sabo, Clara Miller, Jake Cecil, Julian Bauman, Ben Smith, Austin Shumaker
back button
Print This Article
footer logo
District Office: 757 South Lebanon Road, Loveland, OH 45140
Phone: (513) 683-5600      Fax: (513) 683-5697
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Preparing students for tomorrow, today.
© 2019. Loveland Schools - All Rights Reserved.
District Office: 757 South Lebanon Road, Loveland, OH 45140
Phone: (513) 683-5600      Fax: (513) 683-5697
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.