my voice, my choice
new student enrollment
staff directory
tiger web portal
First Class

Posted Wednesday, February 8, 2017

First Class Loveland High School (LHS) salutes the students who authored the 2015-16 LHS Yearbook for earning the National Scholastic Press Association’s (NSPA) First Class certification.

“These students worked diligently to adhere to scholastic journalism standards and present the history of a school year,” said LHS Teacher and Yearbook Advisor Rhonda Overbeeke. “I am so proud of their accomplishment.”

The book also received an extra mark of distinction for the development of its theme: For the love of…

“The theme really showed how much love our community has towards our high school and how much love the students have towards what they do in the school,” said Junior Lauren Parker, who began as a staff writer last year and is currently the sports section editor. “It was nice to capture all the moments that demonstrate love from last school year.”

One of many things that contributed to the First-Class certification, according to the NSPA scorebook, included the quality photographs throughout the book.

“As the photography editor, it makes me feel so accomplished that all of the time I spent uploading, editing, and shooting photos for the book that it helped the book excel at telling and amazing story of our year,” Colin Johnson (alumnus) said.

With the 2016-17 school year in full swing, another yearbook is in the works. Seniors Katharine Vuyk and Sam Faingold serve as editors-in-chief.

“We’re really proud of the work we accomplished last year and we are really working to bring this year’s book up to even higher standards,” Faingold said.

The 2016-17 yearbook will cover the entire school year, August through June, and is currently available for sale at The book will be available during schedule pick-up day in August.

The NSPA, according to their website, is a nonprofit association that provides education services for journalism-related clubs and classes across America.
Photo caption: Award-winning yearbook creators included students (Front row L to R) Reese Tittle, Assistant Editor-in-Chief Anna Azallion, Allese Haddad, Sam Faingold, Katherine Vuyk, Melina Mirza. (Row 2) Editor-in-Chief Ashley Mays, Erica Pearl, Ali Jones, Maddy Armstrong, Karlin Holley, Molly Kramer, Abbie Puchta. (Row 3) Jenna Stanton, Lauren Parker, Elaina VonDeylen, Ashlin McGill, Jessica Morey, Emily Michelfelder. (Back Row ) Advisor Rhonda Overbeeke, Emily Siebenmorgen, Ben Cummins, Jack Sexton, Photography Editor Colin Johnson, Sammi Johnson, Ellie Puchta.
back button
Print This Article
footer logo
District Office: 757 South Lebanon Road, Loveland, OH 45140
Phone: (513) 683-5600      Fax: (513) 683-5697
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Preparing students for tomorrow, today.
© 2019. Loveland Schools - All Rights Reserved.
District Office: 757 South Lebanon Road, Loveland, OH 45140
Phone: (513) 683-5600      Fax: (513) 683-5697
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.